FLY PROJECT: On Consistency & Game Plan


Swan Dive on the Ladder Barren

Swan Dive on the Ladder Barren with my trainer, Kevin of Vivian Zapanta Pilates Studio (Salcedo).

On my 9th week (On my third pilates class), my trainer and I had a thorough chat about goals and timelines. We agreed to set clear intentions on why we’re doing what we’re doing. Again, Pilates is a mind and body movement; it goes beyond just lengthening and stretching, it also practices so much mind work and alignments.

While he was guiding me through my practice, he told me to keep in-mind this famous Pilates wisdom: “Wherever your eyes go, your head will follow. Wherever your head goes, your heart will follow

I’d have to be honest though, I cringed a little but as I wake up everyday, having it listed on my phone to notify me in the morning to remind me of the wisdom, it’s slowly bringing so much weight and meaning – not just in terms of the mindful movement workout but also in general life decisions.

The game plan was ruled out. In a nutshell, I’d have to be diligent to my commitment. I promised to attend to my pilates sessions at least 3x a week for 90 days and we’ll focus on core and posture correction including progressive flexibility. As much as we wanted to tackle weight loss, we wanted to base the progress more on my body’s adaptability towards movement (and the inches). In my head, I was already imagining myself doing more headstands with much grace, handstands with so much strength and get to do splits again. Until then, maybe, Pilates would be the key towards working on my dream to happen. I do still want to take up Yoga certification in India. A girl can dream, right?

After Kevin and I had that chat while he was rolling some pilates balls on my back (the best part of each

Eye on the Prize. Let's work on Progress.

Eye on the Prize. Let’s work on Progress.

session, PROMISE!) he had me go through posture analysis and karada scan to check on my body composition.

To check on progress and for me to keep an eye on the prize; we agreed to have the posture analysis after 30 sessions and have the composition check every month. Let’s talk about pressure! I’m excited and nervous all at the same time.

Being someone who hates knowing what the numbers say, I fearfully faced the reality. There’s so much work to do.

If you haven’t heard it yet, One shouldn’t depend on movement alone. Pay attention to nutrition. Remember: Change happens in the kitchen. The equation states: 80% Nutrition, 20% Movement.

My week 10 turned out this way:

  • Monday: Pilates (Focused on the back and upper body)
    Tuesday:  Cassey Ho’s 1000 abs challenge
    Wednesday: Pilates (focused on lower body and sides)
    Thursday: Rest Day
    Friday: Pilates (focused on legs)
    Saturday: Tara Stiles Build Strength Evenly Yoga
    Sunday: Rest day but took a Corridor walk tour (lots of walking!)

Also, I just wanted to share my very first controlled headstand. Let’s turn the world upside down. So Stoked!

Leave a Reply

