FLY PROJECT: On Sleep and Caffein Punch.


4AM sleepI have a confession to make, I haven’t been sleeping according to schedule. Crawling to bed was the easiest part however snoozing my way to dreamland is a different story. No, I don’t think it’s the sandman’s fault nor the flock of sheep; it’s probably been the adjustment of my work-at-home schedule.

Truthful to my capabilities, compartmentalizing and zooming in to what matters. I left the employment world once again for academe. Sure, I have been entertaining opportunities, declined few and been sending out my CV to the industry I am  hoping to hop back into after the long hiatus but the time just hasn’t arrived yet. Since there are bills to pay, I’ve been teaching business english to a number of Japanese CEO’s from 8PM until midnight. A girl needs to earn for her credit card debts, mobile subscription and all the healthy stuff she’d need to indulge herself into, not to forget, catching up with few friends and acquaintances I haven’t had the time to spend with when employment vacuumed me in.

Yesterday however taught me a lesson. I pushed myself and fueled myself with only caffein to boost. Driving the metro had me felt as if I was floating in a bubble, disturbed by every turn and my parking skills had me questionable. I attended a couple of meetings, which thankfully, I was fully conscious however once I got back into driving and when I attended my Pilates class; my body started to tremble. Controlling my powerhouse was such a chore, my mind and body weren’t cooperating and it was tougher to coordinate my movement.

You see, Pilates combines mindful movement. Yes, it does reduce stress, calm the mind & relax your mood. Yesterday was away from high intensity workouts, further away from alleviating the adrenaline hence trembling from the caffein was an unbelievable chore – I haven’t felt mindfully exhausted from trying to win over my body’s condition.

Remembering the short routine my pilates trainer made me do yesterday wasn’t even complicated yet it felt as if I was doing burpees or something torturous.  After the routine, I had to stay longer at the studio to observe and nurse myself up until the trembling wore out. Girl, it was no joke. I’m never going to have black coffee ever again (The last time I had was 2 years ago and it had me passed out from Bikram Yoga practice).

My trainer at VIVIAN ZAPANTA PILATES STUDIO kept on asking me “How are you?” and I think, I kept on answering him a drunkard response “I’m OoOookaay.”

Sure, it was impressive that I was truthful to my commitment and followed my appointments however as much as we know how to live a healthy lifestyle, it’s learning how to live the lifestyle that’ll make you actually live it.

The key takeaway from the experience was to work out, eat clean and sleep accordingly. If you skimp on one, the rest of your days will be negatively affected which would mean, you’d have to recover more days than one.

nocturnal working

My body has been sore from the straight days I have been challenging myself, working out on my breathing, working on my hips alignment, lengthening my spine and at the same time giving my powerhouse all the attention; not having to sleep right and depending on caffein can be incredibly frustrating.

The feeling was indescribably annoying. Your heart racing, mood-swings has turned its jolt from being cranky, hungry to frantic.

If you want to even be more truthful to your commitments and engagements, you’d have to be both mindfully alert and physically great. In order for one to achieve that is only when you get to give the reboot your body needs.

How much sleep do you get? As of typing this blog post, my eyes is also battling from feeling tired yet my mind is actively wanting to blog more, share what I’ve learned and my will-power saying, there’s no room for dilly-dallying.  It’s a little bit piercing.

Going deeper on to the topic. We all do know that sleep is related to diseases and risk of death. Today’s generation somehow foresee sleep as a sign of weakness, an interruption to success (Remember the cliche: sleep is for the weak? Aye aye, Guilty!) yet for someone who’s quest is to FLY (First Love Yourself), it is essential one get to mindfully know the serious side-effect of not having to sleep, the full restful one.

Serious lack-of sleep side-effects includes some of the following:

  • Diabetes
  • heart-attack
  • organ failure
  • Obesity
  • Diabetes

Aside from the reasons above, lack of sleep actually dumbs you down. It affects how you decide on things, you become more impulsive, and more prone to accidents. You’ll have a difficult time concentrating, communicating your thoughts, calibrating your emotions and less likely to be qualitatively productive; worse, it can lead to depression (plus the caffein? Awful combo!), increase in blood pressure and have a hard time controlling your cortisol leading to higher BMI.

All these thoughts rummaged in as I felt like a caffein drunk individual. It was such a relief I was able to hang out at my former colleagues’ office to calm myself down, gulp on glasses of water and was able to calm my heart rate down. I safely got home, after an entire day of struggling and combating with the sleep deprived plus caffein punch.

From hereon in, I vow to sleep by midnight, right after the work obligation and not to fuel myself with black coffee ever again. If I’m focusing on the FLY, then one needs to be mindful in all aspects – including sleep.

Have you been restful or restless?

Leave a Reply

