A Dreamer: Pursuing Education


Remembering conversations with the first boss I had when I migrated in the U.S. in 2007. He narrated how he claimed his dreams, on becoming the General Manager of the BEST resort in the world.  He didn’t finish high school nor did he graduate from an Ivy league University but with perseverance and willingness to learn, he wanted me to put into heart to cherish every challenge, fail forward, calculate risks yet not to be afraid to try, be truthful of your limitations and hone your strengths. I never really understood these words not until I’ve reached this age when I myself couldn’t tell what is it that I want and what skills do I have to hone.  

I still believe nobody really knows what one wants to do but one would have an idea what it is.

As a gal fresh out from college (I missed the commencement exercise) He read my essay and felt the height of my ambitions. Up until this day, I still can’t believe I had an upgrade from what I’ve prayed for.

He started as a bartender, once was part of different rank-and-file positions before he became the General Manager of the most known resort in the world. 8 years after, with the help of LinkedIN, I found out he finally took the step he’d always wanted to take off from his bucket list – he’s currently taking an Associate degree making his practice as a hotelier even more legit through earning a degree and get to learn the dynamics furthermore. Finally, he built his own global hospitality management consultancy.

He was right when he told me, it is only when you try, you’ll be able to know. Along the way, through knowing my weaknesses and sharpening my skill sets, this is where I finally inject pursuing further education.

eCornell

It is through him when I found out about Cornell University​ and the thought  has never left since. He specifically said something like “One day, when you get to chance to, you’d have to experience the ‘Harvard’ of Hoteliers” this day has finally materialized. A scholarship I never really thought would -re-represent in itself. 

Following his footsteps, I hope one day, we’d bump into each other. I would want to thank him for those passed on words of wisdom. Education may not be a huge factor in achieving your dreams but it can be the key, or tool to get you there notably. I’d be stunned if I find out he’d be one of my virtual classmates.

I have been away from the Hospitality Industry but this time, I’m going back to my roots.

As I claimed my first online educational completion certificate from Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, Wharton Introduction to Marketing on Coursera​, I know, for the next steps, I’m ready.

I begin with my eCornell course on the 11th of June 2015 focusing on Hospitality Marketing.

Wharton Certificate

Leave a Reply

