FLY Project: On Habits and Schedules


Charles C. Noble once said “First we make our habits, then our habits makes us

It sounds simple but having to do one thing and another does require effort and mindfulness. Finding a game plan and executing can be a trial and error process however once you’ve found the equation, everything else would seem to naturally move in autopilot.

Before I started lacing my rubbers on and head out for a run, I was always ‘wishing’ and ‘hoping.’ I had my goals written on my head, thinking in this digital age, I can just perhaps have it on my mobile notes and it can remind me in the process. Well, that didn’t work out.  There’s magic in having to write it down on paper and actually giving it a lot of thought.

I was reminded on why and how I started with this blog back in 2007 when I was still in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. I migrated to another country from Asia on solo and had no one else to lean to but the virtual world where I knew, I can just be myself, write my thoughts in, and share goals with the rest of the world whom may possibly be also working on theirs.

This blog formed accountability buddies and I’ve made friends with some whom I still get in-touch with on Facebook. I wrote in every single day about my experience running around the Butte, how I’ve endured an elevated area, inclined and downward roads, sunny weather to conquering snow.

I fell in-love with running since and progressed from a miler to finishing a number of pikermi and marathons; to hitting the road to enjoying laps on the pool (and even remembering how I described myself as a rock, having a hard time to float).

On finishing the third week, welcoming the fourth week of my training towards the #roadtotri, I’ve broken down my goals into chunks. Finally, I have gotten myself back and have proven that only when you focus on one thing and pour in all your energy will you be able to conquer one goal after another. I had to be kind and forgiving, for someone who regained the weight and lost the endurance, taking baby steps up until my leg muscles re-recognize the action, I’d be able to do further and farther.

Establish the Habit. The game plan is to get back on the road and do a miler, increase another mile on the second week and sustain from the third up until the fourth for 3km, gradually increase and have a 5km mark be the base. Once I get to log a 5km mark, I’d give myself another two or three weeks to progress and get comfortable.

Trust the Training. There are tons of references you may use as a guide however not all training plan may be right for you but once you get to really sit on it and analyze, you may customize your plan according to how your body responds before, during and after each run. Follow but if you must alter, then do so.

Once the habit has been established, you wouldn’t need to focus on it much. You’d be able to proceed for the next. You’ll know when you’re ready.

These past three weeks, my weekdays schedule has been waking up as early as either 530am or 630am, getting to work an hour or two earlier than agreed time to acclimatized, having to spend an hour to study to wait for traffic to wane off.

As for weekends, typically on Saturdays:

  • 5:10am  Fix my car and attach my bike rack
  • 5:30am  Drive my way to my playground
  • 6:00am – 7:00am  Do some loops, at least 30km ride
  • 8:00am home to prepare for work
  • 10:00am or 11:00am – 6:00pm work
  • 6:30pm a short run or study
  • 8:00 Home

On Sunday’s:

  • 9:00am wake up from 7-8hrs sleep
  • 9:30am- 11:00am Church Service 
  • 11:00 – 1:00pm Relax at the mall, read.
  • 2:00pm Nap or Study. 
  • 5:30pm Yoga/run/swim whatever! 

It takes discipline and order. You want success, make it happen. 

Same drill: Follow me on twitter: @kassypajarillo, hashtag #flyproject, Facebook or email me through runkassyrun@gmail.com for Press Releases, Product Reviews, Announcements or anything fitness and lifestyle related.

Leave a Reply

