Introduction to Pilates: Core Reform


You may have heard this before: Unless commitment is made, there are only promises and hopes but no plans. 

I have exactly a month to challenge myself to getting a better core, a deadline I’m pushing myself before I gracefully age another year. I can’t believe how the universe actually works but I do feel grateful on the blessings which I have been bestowed; I really do think that I finally know what I wanted to become and that’s to be my own success story but one can never be successful without the help of those people surrounding you.

Tonight, I got hit straight to my core. Literally and Figuratively.

Core Reform Day 1 at Options Studio with my Fitness Core Trainer, Love.

Core Reform Day 1 at Options Studio with my Fitness Core Trainer, Love.

From doing my own set of training running, practicing yoga at least 7 minutes a day at home and mixing it up with few minutes of boxing at FTX Fitness Exchange Gym in-between work schedules, I grasped the opportunity to become Options Studio’s mini-project: Here’s to hoping I get to celebrate my birthday with a tighter and trimmed core, lesser fat percentage and better posture.

Here is my introduction to the Core Reform Report.

Just like every student, I answered the assessment form wherein Options Studio’s instructor would scan through and discuss with you prior to starting out your class. My trainer, a young and beautiful 25-year-old Mother of a 1 year old son is truly inspirational; you wouldn’t even think she just gave birth a few months ago. She had her c-section to prove (Sorry, I just really had to share that, Love!)

The warm up wasn’t the typical treadmill, walk-in-place or jumping jacks but rather, you’ll be working with a 1kg weighted ball reaching the front, move through your sides and touching the ground to a slow motioned burpee like routine. It was unusual, I had a load of fun.

Love, my instructor (what a lovely name, right?) taught me the difference between the breathing done in Pilates versus Yoga. She explained, however the breath is a foundation of both disciplines; in Pilates, the inhale and exhale patterns, and use the breath to initiate and support movement are as much important.

Lateral breathing, or the contraction of the abs as she described it.

In lateral breathing we breathe deeply, all the way down the spine and into the pelvic bowl, but emphasize expanding the breath into the back and sides of the ribcage.

When the abs are pulled in properly, they protect the spine and act like a supportive corset for the whole trunk. Knowing how to breathe well while keeping the abs contracted gives us extra support throughout an exercise. As you practice lateral breathing, you will find that you are able to perform Pilates exercises with greater ease. It helps make the scoop of abs easier and enhances the sense of lengthening the spine with the breath.  — Wikipedia.

Assisting my hips and movement.

Assisting my hips and movement.

 As she walked me through each movement, she kept on reiterating on imagining I was wearing a corset all the time. What I love about Pilates is its therapeutic and rehabilitating factor. The Principles of Pilates makes you mindfully be aware and attentive to every move that you do.

Amongst all those activities I have tried, Pilates is very much concerned with alignment and functional, efficient movement.

I told Love on how concerned I am with my core and also problem in squaring my hips as well as over-protruding posture due to too much backbends and weak core when I gained tons of weight a couple of years back.

Love was very attentive and knew how to take good care of her client. She was with me all throughout and I was left shaking yet felt I was growing an inch long in every posture I was asked to do.

The props definitely are entertaining.  I had so much fun, I barely felt the hour we spent together.

Pike!

Pike!

We had tons of movement close to planks, activated the core while working on the upper body and lower body with an exercise band, played with a tiny weighted medicine ball and had a number of sliding movement on plank to pikes.

I felt like I was at a playground with too much toys to play with.

The routines are done on the reformer to promote length, strength, flexibility, and balance. There were numerous pushing or pulling the carriage, or holding the carriage steady during an exercise as it is pulled on by the springs; as well as pulses.

The Goal: Better core, awesome inversions. HAHAHA!

Gee, I’ve never had this much fun in quite such a long time!

Happy!

I’ve committed at least 3x a week and they’ll even remind you not to forget your appointment.  Perfect. Care to join me?

Options Studio – Makati 
15th floor of the RCBC Plaza, Ayala Ave. Makati.

HAPPY 7th BIRTHDAY, BLOG! 🙂

One thought on “Introduction to Pilates: Core Reform

Leave a Reply

