Juicing: Meeting JOE CROSS in FLESH


Meeting JOE CROSS in FLESH courtesy of Breville

It has been three years since I last popped on 15mg prednisone, a synthetic corticosteroid drug that is particularly effective as an immunosuppressant drug. It is used to treat certain inflammatory disease such as allergic reactions from hives which I got from bed bugs back in New York and got me fly back to Manila instead of pursuing a life abroad.

Just like Joe Cross, the man behind the documentary: Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead; I detest being induced by such drugs and getting sick, it has given me such awareness on how to take good care of my body and learning why nutrition, eating clean and being vigilant on what you eat are of huge factor in living.

Slowly, I got up after months of depression and decided to cut the fat, wee away from the meat and just have fish and veggies as my meal and slowly gravitate back into running (which has brought me to numerous fun runs, ran for marathons and got me even more interested in fitness and health)

Joe Cross was the influencive man who supported my thinking that if external injuries can cure with proper care, the internal issues must also get cured — and it is only by nutrition. Food should be your medicine, not your enemy.

The juicing was quite a challenge for me since we didn’t have a juicer back then but instead, I ate tons of salads and fish instead. I’ve lost about 50 lbs so far and albeit on plateu due to lack of movement as much as I was running, logging so much mileage every week back then. I’m thanking the juicing entrepreneurs for introducing such food options to the public.

It’s been a year of juicing for me – a day or three days each month at least.

Meeting Joe Cross has reminded me of the journey I’ve gone through and with the support of the people around me, I’m ready to take the leap and go for more than 3 days to get my Polycystic Ovary Syndrome be cured. I’ve shun myself away from the medicines by making myself active on yoga but my body needs more nourishing inside and get my cycle regularized (my Doctor has been telling me to pursue my medicines but I strongly believe that there’s a better way to cure it, it’s not malignant)

Having my greens, logging yoga sessions and drinking so much water has already cleared me away from migraines, better digestion and other symptoms I usually get weekly such as fatigue and exasperation. However, the journey has been pretty progressively positive, I do feel and believe that if only I lose the weight targeting on the viceral fats, I’d be able to bid adieu to the PCOS I have been worried about since my family are prone of myoma (plus I do want to have kids in the future).

Thanks Joe for dropping by Manila, spreading the juice to the world and for being a living testimony who has shown the world that food truly is the medicine, nothing else but that and it’s never too late to take good care of yourself.

I’m so glad I was able to thank Joe in person and got to tell him how much he has helped me get up and just get going.

I’m going for a 10 days juicing challenge this month, care to join me?

Mean Green

Ingredients
  • Apples (green) – 2 medium (3″ dia)
  • Celery – 4 stalk, large (11″-12″ long)
  • Cucumber – 1 cucumber (8-1/4″)
  • Ginger – 1 thumb (1″ dia)
  • Kale or Malunggay – 6 leaf (8-12″) or a cup
  • Lemon – 1/2 fruit (2-3/8″ dia)
Directions

Process all ingredients in a juicer, shake or stir and serve.

Jason Vale’s Lemon Ginger Zinger

 

Ingredients
  • Apples (not granny smith) – 2 medium (3″ dia)
  • Carrots – 2 medium
  • Ginger – 1/2 thumb (1″ dia)
  • Lemon (with rind) – 1/2 fruit (2-1/8″ dia)

 

Directions

Process all ingredients in a juicer, shake or stir and serve.

Leave a Reply

