GUEST POST: Top 4 Apps for Achieving Fitness Goals


When I began thinking about trying to become a fit individual, the first thing that popped into my mind was, “There’s an app for that!” And I was right! In order to get started, I had to calculate facts about my height, weight, BMI, and body fat. I found the perfect app for that.

HealthCalcs

This app provides you with a little bit of everything. It can show you how many calories you have burned based on how much you weigh, what your exercise was, and how long you exercised. After you have entered your height and weight, you can find what your ideal weight should be. Ummm, I didn’t like what it said, but I am determined, so I carry on with my fitness goals. Then I found out that almost one-third of my body weight is fat. That was a real shock but, again, I noted it and continued on my path to fitness. I found out my true weight, my body fat percentage, and my ideal weight. The next step was to find a great app to put myself on a restricted calorie diet and exercise plan. The plan was simple; burn more calories than I consume. So, how do I keep track?

Lose It

This is a great app that helps you to track your calories and activities on your smart phone. It figures your weight, you set a goal, and it calculates how many calories you can have each day. Based on my goal weight, I could have 1200 calories each day. If you add a time of exercise to your log, it deducts from your calorie total. My goal is to be showing a negative calorie count at the end of the day. That means I have burned off the calories I ate, plus some extra fat. This app allows you to put in the foods that you have consumed, gives you brand name foods, and even scans barcodes. That makes it easy to keep track of calories consumed and your exercise routine. What if you do not know how many calories that McDonalds Frappe has in it? Then you look for another app.

Fast Food Counter

This is a beautiful app and so easy to use. All you have to do is scroll to the fast food place that you are going to and find your favorite order. Oh no, I really did not want to know how many calories were in that Whopper hamburger! This handy calculator also gives you the fat content, carbohydrates, proteins, and fiber amounts. If you are traveling, and you have an abundance of fast food restaurants from which to choose, select the one that will give you the fewer calories for your meal. You can keep track of your calories here, or go back to the Lose It app and log in your information. This app will give you nearly every national chain fast food restaurant. It includes foods from Panera Bread, Panda Express, and Long John Silver’s. Looking for a sit down meal? I have another app for you!

Restaurants

 

This app nearly has it all: fast food and sit down restaurants. You will be amazed at just how many calories you consume in one day. This app starts at A and goes all the way to Zaxby’s. You will find any restaurant and the calorie information for their menu with this app.

Author Bio:

Frank Conley is an advocate for healthy lifestyle choices and remaining healthy inside and out. I enjoy outdoor activities and staying up to date on the latest fitness routines and research. If you live in a rural area and have crappy internet, check out high speed satellite internet at a great price.

3 thoughts on “GUEST POST: Top 4 Apps for Achieving Fitness Goals

  1. Sarina McClelland says:

    Thanks for the info, I just try not to eat anything and that’s how I lose weight….my metabolism has slowed down so much that anything I eat puts pounds on…..so I eat as little as possible and every now and then splurge!

Leave a Reply

