RECIPE: Mushroom Veggie Burger Patties


Last month I was told by my OB-GYNE that not only do I have Polycystic Ovary, my other ovary is likewise Cystic hopeful that it won’t grow any bigger hence it should be monitored and well taken cared of. I have been alerted and since prevention is better than cure, I’m just really glad that I have already switched to a healthier lifestyle albeit it’s still a continuous work in progress, I’m getting rid of having that occasional Chicken – I was able to abstain for it for almost a year but since I was told I lack Iron and the restaurants and other caterers don’t often offer much greens and iron-filled goodies, Chicken was the last resort.

These past few days, I have been exploring and trying to taste as much Mushroom burger patties in the metro in order for me to mix and match to my palate. Aside from Echo Market’s readily made patties, I came across this scrumptious recipe online which I would want to share and archive.

It will only take you 15 minutes to prepare, 15 minutes to prepare, 30 minutes tops!

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 lb mushrooms, roughly chopped (combination of crimini, shiitake, and Portobello)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 6 cloves minced garlic
  • 2/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup shredded Parmesan
  • 3/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley, or 1 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
Personal Note: You may also add few almonds and raisins as you desire.

Preparation:

Heat 1 tbsp oil in large saucepan. Saute the mushrooms, onions and garlic over medium heat for about 10 minutes, or until the liquid boils off, and the mushrooms begin to saute.In large bowl, add mushroom mixture to oats, Parmesan, breadcrumbs, eggs, parsley, oregano, salt and pepper. Mix well. Allow to sit for 15 minutes to develop the flavors. Shape into patties. Heat 2 tbsp oil in large non-stick skillet, over medium heat. Fry patties, cooking about 5 minutes on each side, or until golden brown.Serve with your favorite burger toppings.

You may also separate it like ground meat and have it as substitute for your red sauced pasta or any meat recipe substitute. YUM!
One thought on “RECIPE: Mushroom Veggie Burger Patties

Leave a Reply

