The Road to New York – Step 1. Passport Renewal


 Thing do happen for a reason but there are tons of documents to prepare and process aside from the training runs and trying to earn all the funds for my upcoming ING New York Marathon trip.

A month ago, I logged in Department of Foreign Affairs Passport Appointment System to reserve a date and time for my passport renewal. Approximately, nine months before a passport expires is the ideal time to renew however if you’re the type who don’t get to travel very often abroad; you may slip by unnoticed the need to renew.

After Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon’s passport dilemma, although I had it extended until 2012; I figured, it would be best to renew it to lessen the trouble when the need to travel arise — and then, ING New York Marathon arrived.

processing time to expedite a passport renewal application takes 3-4 weeks. This can sometimes take longer depending on the demand at the time you make your application.

Today, I renewed my passport.

According to DFA Passport Appointment System, you should prepare the following documents after you have booked an appointment schedule.

Green Passport or issued after 01 May 1995

  • Present passport and photocopy of pages 1,2,3 (amendment) and last page.
  • The pages showing latest Bureau of Immigration departure and arrival stamps.
  • Photocopy of Birth Certificate for minor applicants.
  • For illegitimate minor, personal appearance of mother is required.
You may read through the list of documents needed HERE

It would be best to reserve the early morning slots to avoid road and population traffic  but with the current system DFA implemented; they strictly won’t allow early goers inside the building if your schedule is late in the afternoon or if you were too late for your supposed appointment. This is their way to control ventilation and chaos.

As soon as I stepped in Gate 2 of DFA, I had my documents machine validated by the officials seated near the gate entrances. After, you’ll be asked to form a line and wait for your turn for documents screening before you finally head onto the second floor to pay for the Php 950 renewal fee charges and Php 140 air21 home delivery of your passport.

You get to line up again by a machine generated number. I had to wait for 100 people before me but the process was pretty speedy if you ask me. From what I experienced when I was younger, the gruesome lines and waiting wasn’t as terrible as it was then. I went out for a quick lunch and as soon as I got back, I was caught in surprise — my number was already called and I had to excuse myself if I may report before they call out the next applicant.

The officer in charge took my documents including my receipt, asked me to smile in front of the camera, had my thumb scanned and signed a computer pod for my signature which will appear on my passport.

No hassles, Just roughly Php 1,500 damage for the renewal fee, courier and transportation costs. Thank you DFA for making it easy-breezy for applicants.

Next stop, Wait for my passport and prepare all the paperwork for the renewal of my US VISA.

Leave a Reply

