Bucket List: Why I ran for Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore I


For those who haven’t ran long distances experts advice is to only run 1 full marathon a year but After The Bull Runner Marathon held in May 2010 at Nuvali – it didn’t stop me from running. I figured I wanted to tick off things on my bucket list while I still can, I have ran the distance perhaps all I’d have to do is to run and run some more just in time for the next one as if I have never ran the distance before.

When Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore was about to close their registration, I sent them an email and asked if registration is still plausible, I thought, what’s a better way to experience Singapore? run for a cause.

I didn’t realize signing up meant tons of sacrifices.

Standard Chartered Marathon was kind enough to give me a slot (I had to run to the Company’s ladies’ loo  to discreetly do my happy butt dance ala Cameron Diaz!) I mentioned it in the entire world through facebook, twitter and sent SMS to all of my friends but as soon as the acceptance letter dawned on me, I figured I’ll be a constant absentee from surfing and shopping since I’d have to save for the trip and all the training I’d have to partake.

Bucket list: Run for a cause, Maple Tree Foundation

Charities are pretty much abundantly everywhere, most are well recognized but I opted to look for a foundation who needs more help than those who are always published on daily broadsheets by corporate events.

Founded by Canadians, Maple Tree Foundation’s vision is to help deprived and underserved mountain communities live healthy, productive, and peaceful lives with sustainable resource development programs that provide basic services, livelihood development, and education.

We have our underprivileged fellow citizens who has been panhandlers in our society. They sell their farm lands in the province thinking the big city would give them greener pastures and better opportunities but well in fact, what they don’t know, they’re much accustomed to more comfortable living in the boondocks than the hustle & bustle of city traffic.

The opportunity which Maple Tree Foundation (MTF) built in the past 10 years is “the responsible resource development in Canatuan, Siocon, Zamboanga del Norte. MTF has provided a few fortunate mountain communities with the opportunity to improve the quality of their lives with sustainable development programs. Where once hunger was common, families have established vegetable gardens that supply their daily food needs and provide additional income. Families who in the past could only dream of sending their children to school or seeing a doctor now have access to primary and college education and basic health care.”

Canadians has been helping us Filipinos, it’s about time that a Filipino also contributes to their advocacy.

Maple Tree Foundation For Mountain Communities
Unit 3202, Regent Parkway, 21st Drive, Bonifacio South District,

Bonifacio Global City Taguig 1634

Telephone Numbers: (+632) 819-2506 / (+632) 819-2510
Fax: (+632) 815-8885
Email: info@mapletreefoundation.net

Bucket List:  Run a marathon abroad

The Route

Starting point – Orchard Road for the Full Marathon. Runners will pass Singapore’s tourist landmarks such as Clarke Quay, Chinatown, the Esplanade, Singapore Flyer and the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort.

Post #2 The Registration

3 thoughts on “Bucket List: Why I ran for Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore I

Leave a Reply

