Marathon: Tapering Period


I know I owe the next post about the Greenfields Half-Marathon and here I am already posting about tapering work-out schedule for the upcoming The Bull Runner Marathon on the 22nd of May 2010. It’s the crucial 3 weeks, I am double-triple-quad nervous, scared for my life but headstrong on experiencing the journey towards the destination … The finish line of a Full Marathon.

Shall have another blog entry regarding the decision I have made since February (wherein I have turned fickle and caused few negotiation together with Jaymie) but here I am tapering serious towards a no joke 42km.

Tapering Schedule

Three Weeks to Go (total 36 miles / 57.5 km)

Sunday – 12 miles / 19 km
Monday – Rest
Tuesday – 6 miles / 9.5 km
Wednesday – 8 miles / 13 km
Thursday – 6 miles / 9.5 km
Friday – Rest
Saturday – 4 miles / 6.5 km

Two Weeks to Go (total 30 miles / 48 km)

Sunday – 14 miles / 22.5 km
Monday – Rest
Tuesday – 7 miles / 11 km
Wednesday – Rest
Thursday – 5 miles / 8 km
Friday – Rest
Saturday – 4 miles / 6.5 km

One Week to Go (total 20/22 miles / 36 km)

Sunday – 10 miles / 16 km
Monday – Rest
Tuesday – 6 miles / 10 km
Wednesday – Rest
Thursday – 4 miles / 7 km
Friday – Rest
Saturday – 1/2 miles / 3 km (optional)

reference

Final Taper Week ( Plan B )

Day 1 – Exercise Duration – 60 minutes, Carb intake – 60%
Day 2 – Exercise Duration – 40 minutes, Carb intake – 50%
Day 3 – Exercise Duration – 30 minutes, Carb intake – 40%
Day 4 – Exercise Duration – 20 minutes, Carb intake – 70%
Day 5 – Exercise Duration – Rest, Carb intake – 70%
Day 6 – Exercise Duration – Rest, Carb intake – 70%
Day 7 – Race Day

Am I ready for a marathon? Who the hell is? Although preparation is the key but for a penguin snail like me? Courage is what’s keeping me going.

11 thoughts on “Marathon: Tapering Period

  1. dhenztm says:

    Good luck Kassy! It’s pretty normal to be nervous, after all it’s a Marathon you’ll be facing. Just put what you learned into practice and don’t forget to have fun! You can only be a Marathon-virgin once! There’s no turning back beyond 🙂

    • chefsy says:

      Hey Dehz, You can say that again! 🙂 my heart is beating in fast motion!
      Hey, hope to meet you soon, ya? 🙂 invite me to blog meets for future runs, announcements what not! 😛

  2. hotlegsrunner says:

    Go go go kassy! You are one tough cookie! I’m still mustering enough courage to join my first FM. Until then, it’s just training and beating PRs for me. Boooriiiiing….LOL!

    • chefsy says:

      YOU CAN JULIE!! You were able to conquer a half, you will be able to conquer a FULL. You’ve been inspiring and you’re very dedicated, there are no words. 🙂

  3. freak4fitness says:

    Actually, this blog post is helpful, I’m toying with tapering right now too.. But only for a half marathon, so it’s not as crucial.
    How exciting that the marathon is creeping up! You’ll do great!

    • chefsy says:

      ONLY? 13.1 miles is NOT “ONLY” 🙂 Good luck and please remember to have fun! Tune in to fun songs on your ipod! Tell me about it, soon!

  4. Eva Gask says:

    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon. KudosRoofing of Fort Worth, 8100 Wallace Road, Fort Worth, TX 76135 – (817) 330-8100

Leave a Reply

