Greenfiled City Sunset Run 2010 : Half Marathon State of Mind


I’ve got to admit, I am an avid fan for sunset runs. This is the opportunity.  A Go Green blinking light is in front of me – time to go for a half-marathon without the dreadful heat of the sun, dehydration and the scary thought of waking up early morning with my heart pounding if I can finish a overwhelming first half marathon.

THE GREENFIELD CITY SUNSET RUN 2010
Saturday, April 24, 2010
Greenfield City, Sta. Rosa, Laguna
www.greenfield.com.ph / www.finishline.ph

I haven’t registered yet but my friend, who will probably register us is on her way at Greenfiled City Booth at Paseo Sta. Rosa – I’m thinking real hard and meditating. Running at UP Oval for a 10km was bearable and enjoyable, what more if it was a Half Marathon?

I really do think this is the chance for me to try and see if I can make it. Uh, but wait, we’re talking about an additional 11km here.

Running around the village at night is actually favorable. I need not to wake up early morning to condition my body for sunrise, having to schedule freely without worrying on errands or working schedule. I really do think  I can do it, it’s just a matter of my right foot which is on stake.

To half marathon or to 10k? It’s a Sunset run, my heart is for the half but my right foot is .. well, Please cooperate!  Meanwhile I shall jot down and train. Do the 10k this weekend and up my mileage towards the 24th.

Must tape my right foot on kinesio again and have that bottle of water ready for my right foot to roll on top before I sleep.

In lieu to the Half-Marathon, I redirected myself to smartcoach and added few details for my training schedule.

Tentatively booked an overnight stay at One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites Now, anyone wants to share with me? What about you? maybe we can do a after run slumber party.

8 thoughts on “Greenfiled City Sunset Run 2010 : Half Marathon State of Mind

  1. MinnieRunner says:

    Go for the half mary girl, you can do it. I register myself for a 10K and promised to pace my bestfriend until the finish line. So I guess no PR for me that day. I will just enjoy the sunset run. I feel like I am at my fastest at night.

    • chefsy says:

      You and I, both! 🙂 I will try to pace with Pedo – but that guy is superb already the way he is, will I be able to catch up? I’m going for the half-mary since it’s going to be a sunset run. I feel much comfortable and more at peace with the night runs.

      Now, I dont know if D can make it for a half too but can he join you on a 10k if ever, see you soon madz! 🙂 I bought woman’s health magazine already btw!

  2. pinkcowgirl says:

    Sunset runs ARE awesome. And GO FOR THE HALF!!! Man, I remember when 5K was your dream. You’ve come a long way, girlie! Go for it!!!!

    • chefsy says:

      thanks james! I’m going to try to go for a 10-15-18k days before the half and see how i’ll do. whew. mental and physical strength, I need you!

      … and with the guidance of my ipod too!

Leave a Reply

