National Geographic Earth Run 10k and Progression


It’s been sometime again since I posted. I have been wanting to write a lot of thoughts about my running adventure, the effect and the changes that happened. The remedy I’ve done (and still doing) for my right foot and how much I cried during those days when I have been |-this close-| frustrated and disappointed for my right foot wasn’t cooperating with what I aim to do every each run.

Meanwhile, I would like to post my training guide for the upcoming 10k race for the National Geographic Earth Run.

Wk Dat Mon Tues Weds Thurs Fri Sat Sun Total
1 4/5
4/11
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 3 km
@9:04
Rest
/ XT
Tempo Run
Dist: 8 km, inc
Warm; 5 km @ 8:03; Cool
Rest
/ XT
Rest
/ XT
Long Run
Dist: 10 km
@9:04
21 km
2 4/12
4/18
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 3 km
@9:04
Rest
/ XT
Tempo Run
Dist: 8 km, inc
Warm; 5 km @ 8:03; Cool
Rest
/ XT
Rest
/ XT
Race Day
Dist: 10 K
@7:47
Time: 1:17:59
21 km

Last week after 3 days of resting my foot, I had a good 3k run around the village then the next day had a great night route at the UP Oval and finished 3 rounds of 2.6 k together with the Nike Human Race 10k podcast. Rest day yesterday and had a great 5k run for 37 minutes! My time is improving, my adrenaline is hyped up once again as I’m excited on achieving 25 minutes on a 5k again.

Today, I jogged on a conversational steady pace with the help of Suzy’s modern couch to 5k podcast.  3km for 18 minutes of straight jog, 5 minutes recovery brisk walk and 2 km straight jog then added 5 minutes cool down .

For a half-marathon which will be held on October, I aim to up my endurance and complete an entire 30 minutes without walking until I reach lasting 3 hours on the road.

Preparation is the key but so far, let’s focus on the 10k then increase to 15k .. .


See you at Mall of Asia on the 18th of April for the National Geographic Earth Run 2010!

2 thoughts on “National Geographic Earth Run 10k and Progression

Leave a Reply

